Michel Gondry Gives A Tour Of His Favorite Video Store In Paris

Mirka23 / Foter.com / CC BY-NC

Earlier this month, Tiffany Nimos from Nowness caught up with director Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Be Kind Rewind) in his native France where he gave a tour of his favorite video store in Paris which he described as a “labyrinth”.

In the interview with Nimos, Gondry was asked if he watches films as much as he used to before he began making them. Gondry replied:

I don’t see them the same way. Unfortunately, I can’t take myself out of the equation. Most of the time I’m watching a movie, I’m thinking, ‘I could never achieve this!’

This is a shocking response to hear from Gondry because whenever I watch his films, I myself feel like I could never achieve what he’s done.

From Official Moon Indigo Facebook

From Official Moon Indigo Facebook

I could never dream up half of the things he does in his films.

From Official Moon Indigo Facebook

From Official Moon Indigo Facebook

It’s likely that this same video store inspired his 2008 film Be Kind Rewind, for which I wrote A History Of Sweded Film.

The Alex is a docile creature.

Mr. Alex

Judge, jury and executioner of this blog. Fish taco lover. I invite you to contribute.

Leave a Reply

